The flag

The Russian Federation state flag is rectangular in form and comprises three equal horizontal stripes: the upper one white, the middle one blue, and the lower one red. The flag is two-by-three in terms of length to width. The law does not stipulate the precise shades of blue and red that may be used.

The Russian flag was created when Russia built its first naval vessels, and was used mostly as a naval ensign until the nineteenth century. Peter the Great’s boat bore white, blue and red stripes. In 1693, also under Peter the Great, a detachment of small vessels sailed for the Solovetsky Islands flying a flag of equal horizontal white, blue and red stripes.

Geographical exploration and discoveries by Russian navigators laid the start of the white, blue and red flag’s use on dry land.

Before the nineteenth century, Russian sailors would raise a cross to mark land they were claiming for the country. But in 1806, a new tradition began when a Russian expedition exploring the coast of southern Sakhalin landed and raised two flags on the island – the St Andrew flag, which symbolized the navy’s valour, and the white, blue and red state flag which declared Russia’s new territorial acquisition.

The white, blue and red tricolour’s increasing use came to a halt in 1858, when the state emblems office at the Government Senate’s Heraldry Department proposed making changes to the national flag.

Over the next 150 years Russia’s flag changed numerous times. In November 1990, a government commission on new state symbols settled the flag question quickly and almost unanimously: Russia had had the white, blue and red tricolour with its more than 300 years of history, and should return it to use.

On December 25, 2000, with a new century and a new millennium about to begin, the Federal Constitutional Law On the Russian Federation State Flag was adopted, setting out the legal provisions and rules for the flag’s use.

The law states, for example, the state flag can be raised during events organised by companies, entities and organisations, and also during family celebrations. People may hang the Russian national flag at home on their balconies or at their dachas if they wish.

When the Russian Federation national flag and the flags of the Russian regions are raised at the same time, the national flag should be:

Флаг РФ

- on the left if two flags are raised,

Флаг РФ

- in the centre if an odd number of flags is raised,

Флаг РФ

- left of centre if an even number of flags is raised.

The national flag must not be smaller in size or placed lower than the regional flag.

The national flag cannot be used as the heraldic base for the regional flags.

A depiction of the national flag can be used as an element or as the heraldic base for Russian Federation state decorations, and also for the heraldic symbols, emblems and flags of the federal executive power bodies.

Gold Star Medal

Gold Star Medal

Federal Guard Service

Federal Guard Service

Pension Fund of the Russian Federation

Pension Fund of the Russian Federation

Ministry of Agriculture of the Russian Federation

Ministry of Agriculture of the Russian Federation

The Russian state flag may not be used as an element or as the background for commercial organisations’ logos:

Неправильное использование Флага РФ Неправильное использование Флага РФ

File for download

Vectoral depiction of the flag
eps, cdr, ai

Флаг

Государственный флаг Российской Федерации представляет собой прямоугольное полотнище из трёх равновеликих горизонтальных полос: верхней — белого, средней — синего и нижней — красного цвета. Отношение длины флага к его ширине 2:3. Оттенки синего и красного цвета законом не регламентируются.

Российский флаг родился вместе с первыми российскими военными кораблями и до XIX века оставался принадлежностью главным образом флотской культуры. На бортах ботика Петра I были нанесены белые, синие и красные полосы. А в 1693 году отряд малых судов Петра совершил поход на Соловецкие острова уже под флагом из равных горизонтальных белой, синей и красной полос.

Начало применения российского бело-сине-красного флага на суше связано с географическими открытиями русских мореплавателей.

До XIX века русские моряки водружали на берегу присоединенной земли памятный крест. Но в 1806 году появилась новая традиция. Русская экспедиция обследовала побережье Южного Сахалина и подняла на берегу два флага. Андреевский флаг отмечал заслугу военного флота, государственный бело-сине-красный флаг — новое владение России.

Распространение государственного бело-сине-красного флага было заторможено в 1858 году, когда Гербовое отделение Департамента герольдии Правительствующего Сената выступило с инициативой изменения российского государственного флага.

В течение почти полутора столетий флаг нашей страны многократно изменялся. В ноябре 1990 года правительственная комиссия по разработке новой государственной символики решила проблему флага быстро и почти без разногласий: Россия имела бело-сине-красный флаг с более чем 300-летней историей, и этот флаг должен был вернуться.

25 декабря 2000 года, накануне нового века и нового тысячелетия, принят Федеральный конституционный закон «О Государственном флаге Российской Федерации». Он определяет правовое положение и правила использования флага России.

Например, в законе сказано, что Флаг Российской Федерации может быть поднят во время торжественных мероприятий, проводимых предприятиями, учреждениями и организациями, а также во время семейных торжеств. Не запрещается вывешивать флаг России у себя на балконе или на даче.

При одновременном подъеме флага Российской Федерации и флагов субъектов Российской Федерации его следует размещать:

Флаг РФ

С левой стороны, если флага два

Флаг РФ

По центру, если флагов нечётное количество

Флаг РФ

Левее центра, если флагов чётное количество

При этом флаг Российской Федерации не может быть меньше или располагаться ниже, чем флаг субъекта Российской Федерации.

Флаг Российской Федерации не может быть использован как геральдическая основа для флагов субъектов Российской Федерации.

Изображение Государственного флага Российской Федерации может быть использовано в качестве элемента или геральдической основы государственных наград Российской Федерации, а также геральдических знаков — эмблем и флагов федеральных органов исполнительной власти.

«Золотая звезда»

Медаль «Золотая звезда»

Служба охраны

Федеральная служба охраны

Агенство по физической культуре и спорту

Федеральное агентство по физической культуре и спорту

«Главный центр специальной связи»

ФГУП «Главный центр специальной связи»

Российский флаг не может быть использован как элемент или фон логотипов коммерческих организаций:

Неправильное использование Флага РФ Неправильное использование Флага РФ

О российском флаге на сайте Геральдического совета при Президенте Российской Федерации.

Файл для скачивания

Векторное изображение флага
ЕПС, ЦДР, АИ